The Dark Tower I : The Gunslinger

Here’s a blogpost on a book Ive often heard about but have yet taken the time to get to know. I am not entirely a fan of King’s – I blame the strange young man I made the mistake of going out on a date with in high school. Apparently, someone had told him that I might be eager to get close to him if he took me to a horror film on our first date. There werent any other films showing at the time that I could say I wanted to see instead, and he wouldnt shut up about Stephen King. So the poor author now has a stigma in my personal experience. But that’s neither here nor there: I should get past old prejudices and give it a shot…right?

sonic candies for deaf children

Image

Imagine : The spirit of Tolkien reincarnated in Stephen King and writes The Lord Of The Rings, but in the old west …

… well, this is what this book reminds me of.

I don’t think I need to made an introduction to Stephen King, so, let’s talk about the book :

The story takes place in a world like ours, but not our, in some kind of “future”, in the old west. The principal character is a gunslinger named Roland Deschain, and he is chasing the Man In Black. Through the story, Roland meets some companions, and we get to know glimpses of his life.

The Dark Tower was inspired  in a poem  called “Childe Roland to the Dark Tower Came“, by Robert Browning. I didn’t read the poem yet, but I think I’ll do it sometime.

The book was first published in 1982.

What can I say…

View original post 53 more words

This entry was posted in Pony Express. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Dark Tower I : The Gunslinger

  1. Hey, thanks for the reblog. Sad to read your experience with King, but not blame the author, and yes, you need to read this book … Everyone needs to read this book.

    Well, take care, thanks again for the reblog.

    • My apologies for taking so long to reply to you! Youre welcome on the reblog – Ive been meaning to pick up The Stand because it sounds as if it might have been one of his best. Dark Tower is definitely on my wishlist…

Leave a Reply

